Home » Facebook Updates Messages Again

Facebook Updates Messages Again

Attention Facebook shoppers. No you did not click on the see all messages or message centre link by accident when you meant to send a message or read a response from an idividual this week. Facebook made another change. This time it is about making the messages work more like the inbox of your email, threaded with the history if you were to sort your email that way.

I was a bit taken aback at first, but am ok with it. Just, well please let us know its coming next time.

Below the screen shot is the info from Facebook.

 

1. How do I send a message?

To send a private message:

  1. Click  Messages on the left side of your homepage
  2. Click  New Message
  3. Start typing a name or email address into the Tofield
    • Names of friends and other people you know will appear in a dropdown

  4. Select the person or people you want to message
  5. Type your message and click Send

You can also message someone by clicking Message at the top of their timeline.

2. How do I add an attachment to my message?

When you’re writing a message, simply click   Upload Files to add photos, videos or documents. Photos you include will appear expanded in the conversation.

When you include a link to a website in your message (ex: a video or article), a preview of the link will be added to the conversation.

3. How do I search for a message?

You can search for messages from a specific person or for keywords in a message. To do this, simply:

  1. Click  Messages on the left side of your homepage
  2. Enter a name or keyword into the search box above your conversations
    • If you’re searching for a conversation with a specific person, it’ll appear beneath the search box
    • If you’re searching for a reference to a name or keyword, click the icon and results will appear in the middle of the page

4. How do I know if a friend has seen a message I sent?

When someone sees your most recent message, it will be marked as seen. That way, you always know who got the message, and who didn’t.Messages are marked as seen if the person is actively chatting or checking their messages.

This feature is part of every message you send, whether it’s from your phone or the web.